on your terms  


100% of the ticket sales going to the artists

NEW: inspiraTO unhinged

Announcing the lottery winners:

Joshua Morris - Big J Entertainment

Lili Pazanin

Marley Kajan - The Creation Coffin

Rachel Manson

Rebecca Becket Grace - Roar in the Woods  

Zachary Arndt - Pointed North Performing Arts

Waiting List

Susan Loncar  - WL 1

Natasha Fiorino  -WL 2

Zoe Danahy - WL 3

Armon Ghaeinizadeh - New Story Productions -  WL 4

Quentin Matheson - Well-Dressed Productions  - WL 5


The inspiraTO Festival, Canada’s largest ten-minute play festival, now in it’s 14th season, showcases over 100 theatre artists in late May. This year’s festival is from May 30 to June 8, 2019. This year’s theme: Outcast. There are four shows (6 ten-minute plays in each show).

inspiraTO Unhinged: full creative control

This season one of the shows will be Unhinged: Six individuals or theatre companies will be drawn using a lottery system, with 100% of the ticket sales going to the artist. Each individual/company will create a ten-minute play and address the upcoming theme: Outcast. They will have full creative control of their piece: from writing, casting and directing. Unhinged.

Unleash your power to create. On your terms.

Who can apply?

The 2019 inspiraTO Unhinged Lottery is open to anyone* who want to create theatre magic (some restrictions apply – see below). Six individuals/theatre companies will be selected at our Lottery Party in the mid-January.

Companies/individuals are splitting the revenues amongst themselves. They also have the power of five other companies to market their show.

Applications due: Thursday, January 10, 2019 by 11:59pm Cost to apply: Application fee of $20 (non-refundable) - an email will be sent to the applicants (by Jan. 14) . Lottery winners: $150 production fee per theatre co/individual (non-refundable) Lottery drawn: Wed. Jan 16, 8:00 pm, 2019. The lottery winners will be posted on this page as well live social media coverage at the day of the draw. Join us at The Wallace Gastropub 1954 Yonge St (at Davisville) for the live draw.

Key dates:

Lottery Winner’s Meeting: January 30, 2019, 7:00 to 8:30 pm – production details Rehearsals times flexible (April/May) Load-in Production Meeting: May 24, 6:30 pm to 9:00 pm Tech: May 25 – 29 (held on weekends and weeknights), each individual/theatre co. will receive two techs and a dress (tech times shared at Winner’s Meeting on Jan. 30) Performances: May 30 - June 8: Schedule of shows shared at the Winner’s Meeting Awards Ceremony: June 8, 2019, 9 pm (not mandatory but encouraged to attend)


The individuals/companies will have 9-10 performances at Alumnae’s Studio Theatre (70 seats), now fully air conditioned and be part of inspiraTO’s Unhinged blackShow. The order of their performances will be determined closer to festival opening.

The six individuals/companies will share 100% of the box office revenue^ (split 6 ways) for their show (regardless of how many members are participating for each company).

Do the math: an exciting proposition for artists

It is very easy to make money under this model. There is a small investment roughly $200 ($20 application fee + $150 production fee + $30 for costumes - typical for ten-minute play and option to use inspiraTO props at no fee). If every participating lottery winner had only one person come out to each show each lottery winner would break even (there are 9 shows)! For maximum capacity do the math: 70 seats x 9 shows (total capacity of 630 seats) x $20 ticket = $12,600. This is split 6 ways (so $2,100 per theatre co./participant) but you also have your marketing efforts upped 6 times as each participant/theatre co. is promoting their play and the show at the same time. inspiraTO will also be promoting the festival as a whole which includes the Unhinged show.

^A nominal online service fee will be deducted from tickets sales.

*Terms & Conditions:

OPEN TO: Any Canadian citizen or permanent resident, over 18 years of age, and is able to attend all the key dates in person (see key dates above).

Anyone who has submitted a play in the festival, or won the inspiraTO Playwriting Contest or is directing, acting in the festival or part of Director’s Toolbox Program can also apply and participate in the Unhinged show.

Members of CAEA or ACTRA cannot participate in the festival or the Unhinged lottery.

The current inspiraTO executive, Playwriting Contest Selection Committee members, teaching leads or board members cannot participate. All other past or future inspiraTO volunteers or artists are allowed to participate.

You may not submit more than one application to the Unhinged.

Please note the following:

The individual/Company Name and Primary Contact cannot be changed once submitted. The Primary contact cannot be the Primary contact for a second or subsequent company in the lottery.

If an individual/company submits more than one application then all relevant applications will be removed from the lottery, and no refund will be given for the lottery application fee.

If the Primary Contact cannot continue with a production, we reserve the right to withdraw it from the Festival. Companies are not allowed to sell or transfer their spot to another company. If we find that they have, both companies will be removed from the Festival and will forfeit 100% of their fees.

Permission: If your piece is not an original work, your company must secure the necessary performance rights, or permissions from the author to perform in Unhinged.

Time Limits: All Unhinged performances start on time and cannot run past 10 minutes. Successful applicants to lottery will be drawn at the 2019 inspiraTO Unhinged Lottery on January 16 and will be shared online live. Results will also be posted on the website by January 20, 2019.

Theatre inspiraTO has the right to nullify any agreement with an individual or theatre company that do not abide by the rules and stipulations of the festival. No refunds or transfers allowed.


Now closed. DEADLINE: JAN. 1O, 2019. The fee must be paid at the time of application.

Lottery results will be announced on Wed. Jan. 16, 2019.

May good fortune be on your side!

This year’s lottery draw at The Wallace Gastropub,1954 Yonge St (at Davisville) for the live draw. Jan. 16 at 8 pm:

Susan Hutchinson - Spotlight Charitable Children's Community Theater

Allison Shea Reed - RedWit Theatre

Armon Ghaeinizadeh - New Story Productions

Rebecca Becket Grace - Roar in the Woods

Susan Loncar

Celeste Bianca - On The Brightside Theatre

Andrew Lee

Neha Kohli

Katrine Raymond

Diana Krsek

Emily Schooley - Laughing Cat Productions

Alison Haines

Amanda Whitney

Connor Ferris

Robynne Harder - Styx and Stones Productions

Rabiya Mansoor

Alia Rasul - Tita Collective

Rachel Manson   

Donovan Jackson - Reverie Theatre

Bryan Boodhoo - Be(e) Right Back Productions

Lisa Ferreira   

Adrian Yearwood - Echo Productions

Zachary Arndt - Pointed North Performing Arts

Bryce Volrath - The Street Fighter Collective

Melissa Giacomini

Moniquea Marion

Alex Clay - The Theatre Circuit

Natasha Fiorino

Zoe Danahy

Justine Cargo - Second Star

Janet Kish - Drunks and Punks

Tony Rein - Chicken Coop Theatre

Joshua Morris - Big J Entertainment

Mary Phan - Meli Melo Productions

Matthew Torti -  Stuttering Boy productions

Sean Manus Gilheany -  Players About de Town

John Marcucci

Emily Bilton - Titanium Productions

Morgan Davies  - The Davoyle Theatre Company

Marley Kajan - The Creation Coffin

Rain Packota - Black Circle of Rain Productions

Quentin Matheson - Well-Dressed Productions

Lili Pazanin